E-mail storyPrint friendly format
Homepage > City Departments > Municipal Court > Options



Options:
  1. Not Guilty
    • Trial by judge
    • Trial by jury

      La Porte Municipal Court is a court of record. In order to appeal a finding of guilt to County Court, a defendant should have a written record of the trial proceeding sent to the appellate court either by a court reporter's transcript or by an agreed statement of facts approved by the City Attorney. A defendant may request a court recording in writing prior to commencement of trial. If no request for recording is made it constitutes a waiver of record.

  2. Guilty or No Contest
    • Pay fine in full
    • Payment extensions (time payment fee of $25.00 added for each violation if not paid in full within 30 days)
    • Defensive Driving Course

      You may be able to require that the charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course or a motorcycle-training course. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take this course. Persons who are cited for violations that occurred in a construction zone when workers are present are not eligible.  if you were operating a motorcycle and request a Defensive Driving Course you will be required to take a Motorcycle Operator's Training Course.  If you were charged with Seatbelt Violation- No Child Safety Seat 8 years and younger and request a Defensive Driving Course, you will be required to take a Specialized Driving Safety "Seat Belt" Course.

      Qualifications:
      • Must not have taken course in previous 12 months for ticket dismissal purposes
      • Valid Texas Driver License
      • Current Proof of personal liability insurance

      Disqualifications:
      • If you hold a commercial driver license
      • Speeding 25mph or more
      • Accident involving damage to vehicle
      • Fail to stop/Passing a school bus
      • Fail to give information or render aid
      • Any violation in a construction or maintenance zone while workers are present

      Fees:
      • Speeding in a school zone = $134.00
      • All other moving violations = $109.00

      If you qualify and:

      • want your case dismissed
      • want to request at court window

        You Must:

        1. Plead guilty or nolo contendere (No Contest) on or before your appearance date
        2. Provide current proof of personal liability insurance
        3. Provide Valid Texas driver license
        4. Pay $134.00 for speeding in school zone, $109.00 all other moving violations

      If you qualify and:

      • want your case dismissed
      • want to request by mail

        You Must:

        1. Plead guilty or nolo contendere (No Contest) on or before your appearance date
        2. Make a written request to take course
        3. Have affidavit properly notarized
        4. Provide copy of Valid Texas driver license
        5. Provide copy of current proof of personal liability insurance
        6. Mail $134.00 for speeding in school zone/$109.00 all other moving violations. No personal checks are accepted.
    • Deferred Disposition (Probation)

      Deferred disposition is a process in which the judge requires the defendant to adhere to certain terms. If a defendant successfully completes those terms, the case will be dismissed. If the defendant does not complete the terms of probation, a fine may be assessed and a conviction entered on their driving record.

      You may request Deferred Disposition (probation) for an offense prior to your court date. To qualify you must appear in person at the court window and have a valid Driver's License and not be subject to another pending Order of Deferred in the La Porte Municipal Court.

      You will be required to post a bond in the amount of $75.00 more than the window fine and comply with the terms of the Order of Deferred Disposition issued by the Court. If at the end of 90 days from the date of the order, you are found to have complied with the order, the case will be dismissed. The bond money will be kept as a special expense fee. However, if you are found to have violated any of the terms of the probation, a judgment of conviction may be entered against you and your bond will be kept as a fine.

      Persons under the age of 25 who commit a moving violation must take a driving safety course as a condition of the deferred disposition
      A holder of a commercial driver's license is not eligible for deferred disposition except for infractions that do not relate to motor vehicle control.


      Disqualifications:
      • If you hold a commercial driver licenseions:

      Fees:
      • Subject to recommendation of city prosecutor and approval by judge


      If you are requesting Deferred for an Insurance violation, you MUST present proof of Insurance at the clerk's window at the time of the request and maintain coverage for the entire deferral period. The deferral period for Insurance violations are 180 days.

      If you would like to request Deferred Disposition by mail, please contact the court clerk's office for instructions.

      Persons who are cited for violations that occurred in a construction zone when workers are present are not eligible.

      Persons holding a provisional license are not eligible to request Deferred at the Clerk window and must appear in open court.

Community Service

If you feel that you have an extenuating circumstance and want to request community service, you may speak with the judge on your appearance date and time noted on your citation.