Area Water Authority

  • On an as needed basis
Agendas & Minutes
To view the most recent agendas and minutes view the archive or to search and/or view past meeting agendas and minutes and historical records visit the Laserfiche Public Records.


  • Stephen Barr, President
  • Doug Martin, Vice President
  • Stephanie Bellew
  • Cambria Beasley
  • Vacant


    Members serve 2-year terms.

    Eligibility Requirements

    Members may not be a member of City Council.

    Staff Liaison

    • Ray Mayo, Director of Public Works

    About the Authority

    The La Porte Area Water Authority was created in 1981 by the State Legislature. The legislation granted the Authority rights and powers related to acquisition of water supplies and the collection/treatment of wastes. The early mission of the Authority was to secure surface water to entities contracting with the Authority. The Authority may purchase, construct, lease or otherwise acquire property and facilities relating to their mission. They may contract with persons, corporations, municipal corporation and political subdivisions of the State with the approval of the City Council.